Where it all began

The Selwyn Sports Trust was established in 2013 by four founding Trustees, with an initial vision of enhancing the public health and wellbeing of the Selwyn community.

Like the growth of the region over the past 10 years, the Trust has evolved and is now a leader in the community in the area of active recreation - particularly in the primary school kura space.

With leadership and advocacy a key priority of the Trust,  alongside current programme and event delivery, the short to medium-term will now focus on building out the Trust capability to reach a greater number of individuals and groups.

The new focus over the coming years is endorsed by our strategic partners, including the Selwyn District Council, Sport Canterbury and SportNZ.

Our Region

Geographically, the Selwyn region is one of the most diverse in New Zealand with topography and waterways that provide many opportunities for the whole community to be active.

From the Waimakariri River in the North, to the Banks Peninsula boundary in the East, the Rakaia River in the South, to Arthurs Pass in the West, our region includes the larger towns of Rolleston, Lincoln, Prebbleton, Leeston and West Melton and many smaller towns and communities.

The Selwyn Sports Trust has a vital role to play in connecting communities together through our programmes, events, advocacy and leadership.

"Creating active opportunities for people of any age, ability or background, builds more confident and capable people and stronger and more connected communities"

Our Mahi is based on research and best practice

The Trust is guided by ongoing ' best practice' research. We are highly innovative with a focus on creating programmes and events that focus on tamariki and rangatahi, but also connect the wider community.

The Trust is guided by 'participation over competition', embracing the philosophy of 'balance is better' and building active recreation opportunities for life.

There is also a strong emphasis on building leadership capability; particularly amongst kura and schools (teachers, tamariki and rangatahi).